ACS Logo

Dayton Section


The Councilor serves a three-year term (2020-2022).

Dr. David Johnson is seeking election to this position and Dr. Steven Trohalaki is seeking re-election.

Dr. David Johnson

Current Position

Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry, University of Dayton

Educational Information

  • PhD in Chemistry, Illinois Institute of Technology (1983)

Professional Society Affiliation

Services to ACS

Member since 1981; member of Dayton section since 1984

  • Chair Elect/Chair/Immediate Past Chair, Dayton Section (1992-1994)
  • Program Co-Chair, Central Regional Meeting (1996)
  • Program Co-Chair, Central Regional Meeting (2010)


Over the past 35 years, the Dayton Section of the ACS has been important in my professional development through the contacts I have made with members from other local institutions. As a Councilor, I will represent the views of the Dayton section at the National ACS board meetings. Some of the problems the ACS faces include the continual increases in dues and the declines in participation at the local level.

Dr. Steve Trohalaki

Cartoon of Steve T

Current Position

Adjunct Professor, Physical Sciences Department, Sinclair Community College (Go Tartans!)

Educational Information

  • BS in Chemistry, State University of New York at Albany (1979)
  • PhD in Physical Chemistry, State University of New York at Albany (1987)
  • Postdoctoral Studies, University of Cincinnati (1987-1988)
  • Postdoctoral Studies, Syracuse University (1989-1990)

Professional Society Affiliation

American Chemical Society

Member since 1981

  • Councilor, Dayton Section, 2005-present
  • Council Committee on Constitution and Bylaws: Associate, 2006-2008; Member and Subcommittee Chair, 2009-2011 and 2014-present
  • Council Committee on Ethics, Associate, 2012-2013
  • Recipient of the E. Ann Nalley Regional Award for Volunteer Service to the ACS, 2010
  • Central Region of the ACS, Dayton Section Representative, 2004-present
  • Central Regional Meeting: Organizing Committee, Printing and Publicity Chair, 1996 and 2010
  • Symposium Organizer, Central Regional Meetings in 2010, 2011 and 2012.
  • Alternate Councilor, Dayton Section, and Delegate to the Affiliate Societies Council of Dayton, 1999-2004.
  • Patterson-Crane Award Committee Chair, Dayton Section, 2005-present
  • National Chemistry Week Coordinator, Dayton Section, 1997–2001
  • Public Relations Chair, Dayton Section, 1995–2002
  • Bylaws Committee, Dayton Section, Member, 1999-2000; Chair, 2011–2012
  • Bulletin Editor, Dayton Section, 2004–2019
  • Younger Chemist Committee Chair, 1996
  • Government Relations Chair, Dayton Section, 1994–1995

Other Memberships

  • Member, Materials Research Society, off and on from 1992-2013
    • Special Contributor to the MRS Bulletin, 2002-2013
    • Meeting Reporter, 2004-2010


Councilor isn’t a cushy position, getting to attend Council on the ACS’s dime. It’s a lot of work, done mostly on committees in between meetings.  Most of my 15 years as Councilor were spent on the Committee on Constitution and Bylaws, where I have worked to improve section, division, and national governing documents.  I’ve been part of Dayton Section governance since 1994, and I possess long corporate memory.  I care about the Dayton Section, and every vote I’ve taken in Council was for its betterment.  It is a privilege to serve as your Councilor.  I need your vote to continue.